How to change the default font style in Microsoft Word
For many people, Microsoft Word’s default font appears to be enough. However, switching to a different font is the way to go for nerdy users who don’t like to be restricted to an app’s preset boundaries because there are many possibilities available in the program. However, if you use the program frequently, having to change…
For many people, Microsoft Word’s default font appears to be enough. However, switching to a different font is the way to go for nerdy users who don’t like to be restricted to an app’s preset boundaries because there are many possibilities available in the program.
However, if you use the program frequently, having to change to your favorite font each time you create a new document can be a headache.
Thankfully, whenever you create a new document in Word, you can pick your preferred font to be the default font. For a step-by-step tutorial on how to modify the Microsoft Word default font, continue reading below.
Updating the Default Font in Microsoft Word
The font pop-up window has all the options you’ll need to update Microsoft Word’s default. You can follow the two different approaches given below by doing as follows:
- Right-click anywhere in the text body of a new document that has just been opened.
- Choose Font from the menu that appears.
- The dialogue box launcher in the Home tab is the alternative method of accessing Font.
- Select the Home tab and press the tiny arrow in the Font section’s bottom right corner.
- Look through the list of fonts after entering the Font dialogue box.
- Next, pick the font you desire.
- You can alter the font’s size, style, underlining, and color in the accompanying box in addition to choosing a different font.
- After making your preferred adjustments, go to and click the Set as the Default option to set the selected font as your default.
- Choose the All Documents Based on Normal Template dialogue after that.
- Finally, press OK to save all changes.
Your preset font will now be the default in all future Word documents that are created. If not, it indicates that you lack the authority to alter the Normal.dotm template file. The default formatting options in Word are stored in this file, which can be deleted to make room for a new file that will hold your customized formatting options.
To make modifications to the Word template file and enable editing:
- Check to see whether you have any Word documents. Type Normal.dotm into the given search field on the top-right pane of Open File Explorer when it is launched from the desktop.
- Windows will launch a file search. When you locate it, right-click on it and choose Properties from the menu.
- Uncheck the Read-only checkbox next to the Attributes section on the General tab of the Properties window’s Properties windows.
- To save all changes, click Save.
You can now make modifications to the Normal.dotm file after restarting Windows. You can also repeat the previous steps, but this time select Delete from the menu that appears when you right-click the Normal.dotm file in File Explorer.
If changing Word’s default formatting options is difficult for you to perform, delete the Normal.dotm file. If this still doesn’t fix things, you can ask your IT administrator for access to the file so you can make modifications.
More in Guides

Copy-Paste Formatting Mess in Word? Quick Fixes to Keep Your Document Clean
Have you ever tried to copy a text from a website or email into Word, only to watch it turn into a formatting issue? Fonts change, gray boxes appear, spacing doubles, or bold text vanishes, and a lot of unwanted clutter appears. It’s frustrating, especially mid-document. Word tries to help with paste options, but defaults…

How to Convert Word to PowerPoint
Imagine a scenario where you’re done with editing your Microsoft Word document for a presentation you’re going to be making in the next 10 minutes and the moderator just whispers into your ear that your presentation must be in PowerPoint slides! Panic would surely set in, wouldn’t it? If you know these tips below, you’re…
How to Remove Comments in Microsoft Word: A Simple Guide
Microsoft Word has a feature of add-ons that is one of the many development options that you have on the platform. We can use these commands to Select the text you want to comment on or click at the end of the text. On the Review tab, click New Comment. Type your comment. This is…
The week in tech, minus the noise.
New reviews, fixes and the stories that matter — once a week, straight to your inbox.
We only use your email to send the newsletter. Unsubscribe any time. See our privacy policy.
Comments