How to Delete or Disable a Discord Account?
Discord addiction can pose challenges when you decide to take a break from social media or perhaps quit gaming altogether. In such situations, deleting your Discord account may be a sensible choice. Make sure this action you take on the Discord account is a permanent action that also erases all associated account data. If you…

How to Delete or Disable a Discord Account
Discord addiction can pose challenges when you decide to take a break from social media or perhaps quit gaming altogether. In such situations, deleting your Discord account may be a sensible choice.
Make sure this action you take on the Discord account is a permanent action that also erases all associated account data. If you ever want to return to Discord, you’ll need to create a new account.
Instead of deleting your account, consider disabling it if you plan to return to the platform after a break.
How to Delete Your Discord Account on Desktop:
If you use Discord on your desktop, follow these steps to delete your account.
- Open the Discord app on your PC.
- Click the Settings icon at the bottom left.
- Open Discord Account Settings.
- Click the My Account tab on the left sidebar settings and scroll down to the Account Removal section.
- Click the Delete Account button.
- Enter your password when prompted.
- Select Delete account.
How to Delete Your Discord Account on iPhone or Android Deleting your Discord account on iPhone or Android follows similar steps to the desktop app.
- Open the Discord app.
- Go to User Settings or tap the Settings icon.
- Choose the account option.
- Scroll down and select Delete Account.
- When a pop-up menu asks if you are sure you want to delete the account, tap Delete.
How to Disable a Discord Account and What It Means If you don’t want to permanently delete your Discord account, you can temporarily disable it. This allows you to reactivate your account whenever you want without losing any associated data.
When you temporarily deactivate your Discord account, you won’t receive notifications, but none of your account data, including chats and conversations, will be removed.
It’s important to note that Discord retains disabled accounts for two years. After that, it may delete the account due to inactivity. If you plan to take a break that could last for over two years, log in once to ensure your account is not deleted.
Before disabling your account, delete the Discord servers you own or transfer their ownership to someone else.
To disable your Discord account:
- Log in to your Discord account and choose User Settings (cog icon).
- Go to the My Account tab.
- Click on Disable Account under Account Removal and follow the on-screen instructions to complete the process.
The steps are the same for Discord’s iPhone and Android apps.
To restore your account, simply log back into the service using your credentials and follow the on-screen instructions.
Choosing between deleting and disabling your Discord account:
Discord is an excellent platform to connect with like-minded users who share your passion for gaming or other topics. However, if you feel that Discord is becoming a bit overwhelming, consider disabling or deleting your account.
We recommend disabling your Discord account, as you can easily reactivate it later. Deleting it is a permanent decision, and you cannot recover the account. If you’re done with Discord for other reasons, explore some alternative platforms worth considering.
FAQs:
Q: How long does it take for a Discord account to be deleted?
It may take up to 14 days for a Discord account to be deleted, and you’ll receive an email confirmation.
Q: What happens when you delete a Discord account?
When you delete a Discord account, all your data is lost, including chats and messages. If you’ve joined any servers, you’ll be removed from them. Your username will also change and appear as “Deleted User.”
More in How-to

How to Delete Instagram Account
Instagram is slowly becoming popular among people. Nowadays, every tech-savvy person or tech blog has an Instagram account. The idea is to select an image or video and comment about it. You can add hashtags to generate more leads. When it comes to social media, security and privacy is an important factor. Nowadays, the actions…

How To Get Discord On PS4 And PS5
Discord, a popular audio, video, and text chat application, has spread through the gaming world. Discord, which was launched in 2015, immediately gained popularity among gamers because of its user-friendly UI and seamless communication features. PlayStation 4 and PlayStation 5, the popular gaming consoles from Sony don’t need any introduction to the gaming world. Now…

How To Delete Facebook Account
Facebook had a special long term relationship with our lives. With people addicting to social networking sites, Facebook is their first choice to join. Facebook became part of our life, features like photo, location, music, links including our emotional feelings as the latest update. We already discussed Facebook addiction and the best ways to avoid…
The week in tech, minus the noise.
New reviews, fixes and the stories that matter — once a week, straight to your inbox.
We only use your email to send the newsletter. Unsubscribe any time. See our privacy policy.
Comments